Little Success

What is the definition of success?

Success is not one thing, but it is achieving anything that you’re proud of and overcoming challenges you’ve faced. True success comes when you are happy and content with your life and the choices you’ve made and actions you’ve taken.

I never thought I was successful.

Everyone’s definition of what makes you a success is different, and I’ve only recently understood this.

A friend once said they couldn’t understand why somebody wouldn’t go to university and said the people who don’t obviously have no ambition.

I’ve recently decided university isn’t for me. I failed my AS Levels after not revising. I still don’t know what I want to do with my life, so in a way I guess I don’t have ambition. So am I not successful?

I actually believed I was becoming a failure. I wasn’t used to this after effortlessly being one of the top students in all of my classes all the way from reception right through my GCSES. I didn’t know how to deal with this either. I saw myself as unsuccessful.

But now I’m getting there. I’m starting to realise not being the best is ok, as long as you are doing your best. I’ve come to realise that just because I haven’t taken the straight path to success that has been laid out as the norm, it doesn’t mean I won’t get there. I’m a success right now.

Writing these posts makes me feel successful. I feel successful in that I believe I’m feeling more positive and happier each day. I’m successful in the fact I am balancing out two jobs, sixth form, a volunteer placement as well as making room for family and friends. I’m saving money for my future which feels like a success.

These are my little successes. My life will be one massive success I can assure you, as will anybody’s who’s done any little thing that made them proud of themselves or overcomes a barrier standing in their way.

I don’t know what successes my future holds. It may be bringing up a family, or holding a career, or even achieving my goal of travelling and seeing the world. Whatever happens, there will always be these little successes.

Leave a Reply

